Great Southern Grammar is governed by the School Council, consisting of the following members:

  • Mrs Fran Leary (Chair and Chair of Finance)
  • Mrs Anne Hey
  • Mrs Kylie Smith
  • Mr Ian Clarke
  • Mr Simon Thomas
  • Mr Tom Moir
  • Mr Rowan Gilbert
  • Mr Mathew Irving (Principal) (ex-officio)
  • Mr Andrew Orr (Business Manager) (ex-officio)

The Principal reports to the School Council on a monthly basis about the operational running of the school.

The School Council is accountable for four specified areas:
  • development and implementation of an effective strategic direction for the school
  • development and implementation of effective processes to plan for, monitor and achieve improvements in student learning
  • effective management of the school’s financial resources in accordance, where relevant, with any purposes for which they are provided
  • compliance with all written and other laws that apply to and in respect of the school and the operation of the school